Short Review: Murder of Crows by Anne Bishop (Book two of ‘The Others’)

Synopsis:

After winning the trust of the terra indigene residing in the Lakeside Courtyard, Meg Corbyn has had trouble figuring out what it means to live among them. As a human, Meg should be barely tolerated prey, but her abilities as a cassandra sangue make her something more.

The appearance of two addictive drugs has sparked violence between the humans and the Others, resulting in the murders of both species in nearby cities. So when Meg has a dream about blood and black feathers in the snow, Simon Wolfgard—Lakeside’s shape-shifting leader—wonders whether their blood prophet dreamed of a past attack or of a future threat.

As the urge to speak prophecies strikes Meg more frequently, trouble finds its way inside the Courtyard. Now the Others and the handful of humans residing there must work together to stop the man bent on reclaiming their blood prophet—and stop the danger that threatens to destroy them all.


My Review:

Although ‘Murder of Crows’ wasn’t on my vacation-tbr, I recently just finished it. Because after reading Written in Red and liking it so much… how could I not start with the second book right after?

And again it is hard for me not to jump right in into the third book ‘Vision in Silver’ since the next book is only to be publsihed in 2016. And the wait would probably kill me. And since I’m already hooked so much it is hard for me already to leave this world alone (since my head just keeps going over it again and again. I do that a lot with books I highly enjoyed reading, as you may now know if you’ve read my post about ‘Maladaptive Caydreaming’ 😉 . So while this isn’t actually a bad thing at all, but I wanted to do other stuff in my vacation as well… So for now, I have to wait with reading Part 3. And I wanted to read other books too and probably interact a little more with my human pack. haha. bookreference, get it? This being said. I recommend you to read this series. Because I love it and it’s addicting!

The second book was really good as well as the first one, but I found myself being more able to put the book down and actually go to sleep, instead of reading on at some parts (which I had more problems with, with the first book).
But I enjoyed the speed of the book, still. And I enjoyed the characters even more. Can’t help loving these characters. The only thing that was a little bit disappointing for me, was that in book one, we got Asia Cranes perspective quite detailed. In this book the Controller, from whose compound Meg fled, held a bigger role in the book (or I had the impression he should have). He gets his own segments were we read about his perspective. But while Asia Crane was almost annoying to me at some point, I felt like there was too little about the Controller’s perspective revealed.

To the more enjoyable fluff of this book. The interaction between Meg and Simon gets closer. And the ways of how their ‘frienship’ evolves had me laughing out loud and giggling several times (it’s just so cute somehow, how the main features and characteristics of a pup, are being described in a fullgrown (Wolf)man. Sometimes it’s more like reading about a girl and her beloved pet, but it’s funny in it’s own way and kind of touching for the way they both care and want to protect their friend.)

BUT: I feel like the author should finally let Simon come to a conclusion with his feelings for Meg. And I mean the right conclusion, not that wishywashy frienship/part of the pack-conclusion, since Meg is only a human, etc.
Admit to it, dammit!


So all in all, despite minor negative points taken this time, I’ll have trouble not to jump right into the next book, but I’ll wait.

4 stars

Leave a Reply

